Variable Easy (Sun Style) Tai Chi for Health

A new simplified system of variable length Tai Chi exercise for health

Variable Easy Tai Chi for  Health


We have suggested that some teachers of the VETCH therapy may want to train more to become instructors of the classical Sun Family Martial arts.  This page describes what these arts are, and what are Wajia?

Neijia and Wajia

Neijia or internal martial arts describes a group of defensive martial arts that depend more on trained skill for effective technique rather than Wajia or external martial arts relying on training for increasing muscle power and attacking methods.  Neijia methods grew out of original Wajia.

In China the three main internal martial arts are Taiji Quan, Bagua Quan and Xing Yi Quan and were associated with the native Chinese and Taoism, Wajia was identified with the martial arts imported from India by the Buddhist monks.

Japan has an internal art very similar in its principles to Taiji Quan called Aikido and is often  also classed. as Neijia

Neijia arts are based on training to change natural abilities and normal reactions while Wajia training is based on increasing the natural abilities and normal reactions.

Neijia training is subtle and complex and often difficult to understand the purpose behind it. Wajia training is strait forward and the aggressive techniques easily understood.

Sun Lutang was a very famous Chinese Martial artist who became a renown master of the internal art of Xing Yi Quan (pronounced shing yee kwan). It is the oldest of the three internal arts and at first glance seems similar to a Wajia art. Having mastered Xing Yi, he moved on to study Bagua Zhang and mastered that. Finally he learned the art of Taiji Quan and became a master of that, famed for his ability to use it as an effective martial art.

This means that followers of Sun Lutang’s martial arts can study all the three Chinese Neijia or internal martial arts. We provide classes in Wales where it is possible to study all these three internal arts of Sun Lutang as well as our modern VETCH exercise therapy.

Unlike Japanese martial arts we do not hold grading examinations or hold competitions. This means practise is very relaxed and friendly being free from tension



Taiji Quan












The third and final stage is sparring practise with a partner San Shou. Many people, particularly elderly ladies, are happy to remain at the first stage doing sequences of solo exercises. In most of our classes we want to move beyond that “novice” stage so common in most venues offering only so called non martial novice art of “Tai Chi” void of martial content. We introduce a bit of friendly partner practice to study tui shou and applications . Thus we do Tai Chi Chuan (Tai Ji Quan ) with Chuan or Quan not dropped ,  implying we are doing  more than just novice Taolu  and also teach the real martial Tai Ji Quan.



Xing Yi Quan



Xing Yi Qaun means “Form and Intention Fist or martial art” This is an art originating with training soldiers to fight in the ancient Chinese army moving forward in lines of attack, shoulder to shoulder, so movement is very linear moving forwards with spears etc. From this Xing Yi was developed as a fast and powerful attacking method.

The basic training is five ways of punching called the five fists.

Pi Quan   ——Metal ——Splitting Fist

Beng Quan —Wood——-Smashing Fist

Zuan Quan  —-Water——-Drilling Fist

Pao Quan ——-Fire———Pounding Fist

Heng Quan——Earth——--Crossing Fist

At a more advanced stage there are routines that link the five fists, and movements that reflect the actions of twelve animals.



Bagua Quan



















My mentor suggests that it is difficult for students to study all three arts at the same time, so recommends they at first chose one for their main study and have just a taste of the other two. As a head instructor of the Swimming Dragon School, I will try to study and progress my knowledge of all three in order to provide for the individual needs of my students. Fortunately my mentor could not be more helpful in assisting me achieve that aim. I am very lucky to have found Mr Nyfelt who has been a great friend to us and is passing on to us as much as we can assimilate of his vast Sun Style expertise.









Sun’s Neijia

Taiji Qaun means Ying-Yang Universe Martial Art. Usually known in the West as Tai Chi, this is the most well known Neijia art practised by many people all over the world. As Sun was already a master of the other two internal arts, he used his vast knowledge to improve the art of Tai Chi to create the final classical development of Tai Chi as recognised by the Chinese government. Tai Chi practise is based on the study of the application of 13 tactical movements. There are three stages or levels of practise.

At the first level Taolu you learn sequences of martial art movements that you perform solo. At the next stage Tui Shou to develop sensitivity to a partners movement with partner exercises usually called pushing hands Tui Shou

Ba means eight, and Gua means the trigrams usually seen around the ying yang circle, and Quan means martial art. This is an art which is totally different from the linear Xing Yi Punching. The palm is used much more than the fist. The art is to move in circles to dodge an attack and arrive in a position to launch an effective response. The basic practise is to learn strange and confusing movements that could be confusing to an attacker. The main techniques are sudden changes in direction of circular walking, called “Palm Changes”. There are a few basic palm changes and then eight palm changes representing the eight trigrams usually seen surrounding the Yin Yang symbol. Each trigram being identified with an animal and a palm change movement. 

The circle walking training is at first a method of bodily conditioning rather than actual fighting. At an advanced stage it becomes very effective. Many do Tai Chi hoping it will give them a long healthy life. Actually in China the body conditioning of Bagua Masters has meant that they often outlive even Tai Chi Masters.